The WAA held its first Congress in Japan in 1986.  Since that time, the Congress has been sequentially rotated through Asia, the Americas and Europe and occur every 2 years when possible.

Crown Prince and Princess Takamata
1st International Congress of the World Apheresis Association
May 20 – 23, 1986 Tokyo, Japan

Past Congress Locations and Presidents

Month / YearLocation of CongressPresident Name and Location
May 1986Tokyo, JapanGerard Rifle, FRANCE
May 1988Ottawa, CanadaGail Rock, CANADA
April 1990Amsterdam, NetherlandsC. Th. Smit Sibinga, NETHERLANDS
June 1992Sapporo, JapanGioro Avanzi,
March 1994Texas, United States of AmericaT. Aguishi, JAPAN
November 1996Florence, ItalyFrancis S. Morrison, USA
October 1998Sao Paolo, BrazilMauro Valbonesi, ITALY
July 2000Perth, AustraliaHorst Klinkman, GERMANY
September 2002Paris, FranceThomas Price, USA
May 2004Miami, USAPeter Ivanovich USA
March 2007Yokohama, JapanLoic Guillevin, FRANCE
March 2009Buenos Aires, ArgentinaNoritoshi Shibua, JAPAN
September 2010Interlaken, SwitzerlandBernd Stegmayer, SWEDEN
September 2012Istanbul, TurkeyRobert Weinstein, USA
April 2014San Francisco, USAHiroshi Tsuda, JAPAN
April 2016Paris, FrancePaolo Perseghin, ITALY